Passing the time…and Lighting the Night

Being healthy is kind of boring these days, not much to complain about.  To-do lists and chores have replaced the structure of being an inpatient in the hospital.  I have to keep myself busy…right.  That’s what the doctor’s orders are these days.

Since I have been feeling great, hanging out with my new immune system I figured I would take it shopping. First stop Nordstrom’s, then Bed Bath and Beyond, a trip to Target, all in the same afternoon.  Starting regularly going to restaurants again, dinner with a bunch of friends, lunch with my mom…all things I took for granted before my diagnosis.

Last week I mentioned I was on an organizing kick, but there is only so much stuff-to-stuff into boxes.  So we decided to take it to the next level, we decided to redecorate the house, figured it was a good place to start.  Bought new living furniture, changed the double home office into an office/lounge since Jenna is a no longer a student.  Before I start my consolidation phase, we are having the basement redone again, this is the 2nd time we have redone the basement.  This time we are taking a few more liberties with the remodel.

Health wise I am doing great.  Labs every Monday is now routine.  Counts were right where they needed to be today.  As I was leaving the hospital today, I ran into one of my Oncology nurses, I showed her my lab results; she gave me a huge hug (Thanks Shannon).  It was great to get that affirmation that everything is going in the right direction.

Since I am feeling great, I am going to start riding my bike again this week.  It a good way to get out of the house, and since we live practically in a park with bike trials there is really no excuse for me not to get out every day.

I’m doing great. Not much to complain about, just 2 Phillies games; Doc, Cole, a Harry K statue and a Polly bobble head to look forward to this week.

See you at the bank; I’ll be in section 204

MA

P.S.  I will be forming  a Light the Night team.  Keep an eye out for more info and how you can help support my team and the The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.

P.S.S > Designer friends, would love some help with a logo for our t-shirts…

P.S.S: here is a link to my team’s page: http://pages.lightthenight.org/epa/Phi11/DownwithDisease

When:

Saturday, October 22, 2011
The Philadelphia Art Museum
at Eakins Oval
Philadelphia, PA

Leave a Reply

